How Old Do You Have to Be to Buy CBD Products?
Before using CBD, there are two questions you need to ask first: "Is CBD legal in my area?" and "Do you have to be 18 or older to buy CBD in my area?"
CBD has only been recently made legal at the federal level through the 2018 Farm Bill, and individual states have made their own legal laws regarding CBD since.
One main topic has been "Can a minor buy CBD?" In this blog, we will help gather some of the information for you to answer these tricky questions.
Is CBD Legal?
The legality of CBD can be confusing. The short explanation is, based on the Agriculture Improvement Act of 2018, also known as the 2018 Farm Bill, CBD derived from the hemp plant is considered legal as long as it contains less than 0.3% THC, while CBD derived from the marijuana plant is still considered illegal.
While this legalized it at the federal level, each state has the ultimate decision on its legality. Each state has its own set of rules and regulations regarding CBD. If you want a more in-depth explanation, you are welcome to refer to our blog Is CBD Oil Legal in the USA?
After the states decided their laws on the legality of CBD, the next questions they tackled were, "Do you have to be 18 to buy CBD?" and "Can a minor buy CBD?". Each individual state then decided whether or not there would be any age restrictions.
This is what we will focus on for the rest of the blog, but it is important to note that while each state has its own laws and regulations regarding CBD, there are also local (county and city) laws that might contradict the state laws. This can become confusing, so checking the laws and regulations for your specific area is important.
Federal Age Limit
When the 2018 Farm Bill was passed by Congress, there was no mention of an age restriction on purchasing or using CBD. This means that technically at the federal level, anyone, including a minor, can buy CBD. However, as mentioned above, each state has the ultimate decision regarding any age restrictions for their state. Here is a breakdown of the age restrictions for each state with a few explanations when there needs to be some clarifications.
States With No Age Restrictions
|STATE||State Legal Status|
|Alabama||You must be registered as a medical cannabis patient, and selling CBD outside the medical restrictions is illegal.|
|Arizona||No Age Restrictions|
|Arkansas||No Age Restrictions|
|Iowa||No Age Restrictions|
|Maryland||No Age Restrictions|
|Missouri||No Age Restrictions|
|Nebraska||No Age Restrictions|
|New Jersey||No Age Restrictions|
|Texas||No Age Restrictions|
|Virginia||No Age Restrictions|
|West Virginia||No Age Restrictions|
States Where You Must Be 18 or Older
|STATE||State Legal Status|
|California||Must Be 18 or Older|
|Colorado||Must Be 18 or Older|
|Connecticut||You must have a license to purchase CBD|
|Delaware||Must Be 18 or Older|
|Florida||Must Be 18 or Older|
|Georgia||CBD products are illegal unless there are extreme circumstances, and you will need a special license when buying CBD.|
|Hawaii||For the most part, you must be 18 years or older when buying CBD, but a few stores require you to be 21.|
|Idaho||CBD products in Idaho must contain no traces of THC in them and require you to be 18 years old to purchase. Some places in Idaho require you to be 21 to buy CBD products.|
|Kansas||Like Idaho, there must be no THC within the CBD products. You must be 18 years or older and only be buying the CBD for medicinal use.|
|Kentucky||You must be 18 years or older and have a doctor's recommendation to buy CBD products.|
|Louisiana||Must Be 18 or Older|
|Massachusetts||Must Be 18 or Older|
|Michigan||Must Be 18 or Older|
|Minnesota||Must Be 18 or Older|
|Mississippi||Must Be 18 or Older|
|Montana||Must Be 18 or Older|
|Nevada||Must Be 18 or Older|
|New Hampshire||Must Be 18 or Older|
|New Mexico||Must Be 18 or Older|
|New York||Must Be 18 or Older|
|North Carolina||Must Be 18 or Older|
|North Dakota||Must Be 18 or Older|
|Ohio||Must Be 18 or Older|
|Oklahoma||Must Be 18 or Older|
|Oregon||Must Be 18 or Older|
|South Carolina||You must have a prescription to purchase CBD|
|South Dakota||Must Be 18 or Older|
|Vermont||Must Be 18 or Older|
|Washington||Must Be 18 or Older|
|Wisconsin||Must Be 18 or Older|
|Wyoming||Must Be 18 or Older|
States Where You Must be 21 Years Old
|STATE||State Legal Status|
|Alaska||Alaska has strict rules about selling and importing CBD, so it may be hard to find, but the user must be at least 21 years old to purchase.|
|Illinois||You Must be 21 Years Old|
|Indiana||CBD can only be used for medicinal purposes.|
|Maine||You Must be 21 Years Old|
|Rhode Island||You Must be 21 Years Old|
|Tennessee||You Must be 21 Years Old|
|Utah||You Must be 21 Years Old|
These age restrictions and laws are always changing and being updated. It is important to check your local and state laws before buying CBD.
Which CBD Products Are Legal To Use Based On Age?
When discussing the question, "Do you have to be 18 to buy CBD?" it is important to discuss the different kinds of CBD and how they might affect the answer. There are many different kinds of CBD products.
There are oils, topical creams, capsules, gummies, vapes, cigarettes, etc. These different CBD products may change these age restrictions and rules. Specifically, CBD vapes and CBD cigarettes affect the rules and regulations.
As mentioned above, CBD products derived from the hemp plant are legal at a federal level and have no age restrictions. However, there are specific rules for businesses when it comes to selling inhalable products to anyone under the age of 21.
This regulation supersedes the federal rules regarding CBD. The short explanation is that you must be 21 years or older to purchase CBD vapes or CBD cigarettes and any other inhalable products in every state. Make sure you double-check your local and state laws regarding these products.
Can A Minor Use CBD?
While the answer to the question "Can a minor buy CBD?" is technically yes at a federal level, each state has its varying answers, as shown above.
Even though they can purchase CBD, parents should be cautious when it comes to giving their children CBD products. There is limited data on the long-term effects CBD may have on children.
The only reason a child or teenager should be given CBD is if a Doctor prescribes or suggest giving CBD a try. Please consult your physician before giving your child CBD.
Sum It Up!
Hopefully, we answered your questions "Can a minor buy CBD?" and "Do you have to be 18 to buy CBD?" in this blog. While there is no age restriction at the federal level, each state and local government has its own set of laws and age restrictions when it comes to buying CBD.
The states also have their own laws regarding the legality of CBD in general. It is important to know these laws and regulations before purchasing CBD products and starting to use them. If you have any further questions, please leave a comment on this blog.
Why Buy From GreenIVe?
GreenIVe CBD products are made with high quality hemp derived CBD oil. Each product is third-party tested and expected. Depending on which state you live in, we have a CBD products that meet specific state regulations. GreenIVe sells a variety of CBD oils, softgels, gummies, and topicals. Start a chat or visit our list of products to start your CBD journey today.
GREENIVE CBD PRODUCTS